a scheme of the jujutsu kaisen chronological order

The Jujutsu Kaisen chronological order can be tricky if you’re new to this anime because the author chose to present the story in a mixed way. So, let’s take a look at how to watch Jujutsu Kaisen in order.

The Jujutsu Kaisen chronological order

Suguru Geto and Satoru Gojo on season 2
  1. Season 2 (Episodes 1-5)
  2. Jujutsu Kaisen 0 (Movie)
  3. Season 1 (Episodes 1-24)
  4. Season 2 (Episodes 6-23)

Jujutsu Kaisen intended/release sequence

  1. Season 1 (Episodes 1-24)
  2. Jujutsu Kaisen 0 (Movie)
  3. Season 2 (Episodes 25-47)

Is Jujutsu Kaisen 0 before or after the first season?

a frame of yuta from jujutsu kaisen 0

The movie is a prequel to the main series and happens before the first season. It doesn’t spoil any big events from Season 1. Instead, the movie helps you understand the story and characters better without revealing any major plot twists. Watching ‘Jujutsu Kaisen 0’ before or after Season 1 can make you appreciate this Season even more.

So, it’s up to you whether you want to watch it before or after the first season; it won’t spoil your experience either way. But I recommend you to watch it between seasons 1 and 2.

How should I watch Jujutsu Kaisen in order?

Satoru Gojo smiling in season 1

For the best viewing experience, it’s better to watch Jujutsu Kaisen in the order it was released instead of the chronological order. This way, you can follow the story naturally, which adds to the suspense and helps you see the characters grow. Start with Season 1 to get a good foundation of the challenges the characters face. Then, watch ‘Jujutsu Kaisen 0’ to get important background details. By following the release order, you won’t miss key moments and can fully enjoy the intense storylines in Season 2.

Why to watch Jujutsu Kaisen in Chronological Order

(Spoiler for season 2)

Suguru Geto possessed by Kenjaku in season 1

I’d say the main advantage is that you don’t miss or confuse things. For example, in Jujutsu Kaisen Season 1, Geto’s body is already possessed by Kenjaku, but in the movie, it’s still the real Geto. These two versions of the character have different motivations. It gets all mixed up in our minds and ends up being a bit confusing since it’s not clearly explained what happened to Geto’s body until Season 2. So, it’s confusing to watch Season 1 and then see another Geto in the movie. Therefore, the chronological order gets a point here.

If you like JJk consider reading another posts from here: An easy guide: Simple Domain vs Domain Amplification in JJK

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *